World News | Indian TS Tirumurti becomes new chairman of the United Nations Counter-Terrorism Committee


New York [US], January 5 (ANI): TS Tirumurti, Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, was appointed Tuesday (local time) as the new Chairman of the United Nations Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC).

Prior to assuming his current position as Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, in May 2020, Tirumurti served as Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, managing the Economic Relations portfolio (which included, among others, the Gulf and Arab World, Africa and India’s Development Partnership), according to the UNSC statement.

Read also | United States: A record 4.5 million Americans quit their jobs in November 2021.

Tirumurti previously served at the Indian Embassy in Egypt, Cairo; to the Permanent Mission of India to the United Nations in Geneva; as India’s first representative to the Palestinian Authority in Gaza; as Counselor at the Embassy of India in the United States, in Washington. CC ; as Deputy Head of Mission at the Embassy of India to Indonesia, Jakarta; and as India’s high commissioner to Malaysia, in Kuala Lumpur, the statement said.

Tirumurti has also served as Undersecretary (Bhutan), Director (Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs), Deputy Secretary (Bangladesh, Maldives, Myanmar and Sri Lanka) and Deputy Secretary (United Nations Economic and Social Council) while serving in the ministry. Indian. of External Affairs in New Delhi, he added.

Read also | Omicron Surge: Hospitalization and death rates could differ from country to country, according to WHO.

India will chair the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Counter-Terrorism Committee in January.

This committee was formed in September 2001, shortly after the tragic terrorist attack of September 11 in New York, when India chaired this committee at the Security Council in 2011-12.

In 2021, India was invited to chair three important Security Council committees, including the Taliban Sanctions Committee, the Counter-Terrorism Committee and the Libyan Sanctions Committee. (ANI)

(This is an unedited, auto-generated story from the Syndicated News Feed, the staff at LatestLY may not have edited or edited the body of the content)


Comments are closed.