European Union updates list of countries for stricter AML controls – European games industry news

Reading time: minute

The European Commission, the executive branch of the European Union (EU), has updated its list of high-risk countries, from which players should be subject to stricter customer checks by gambling operators.

Based on Article 9 of Directive (EU) 2015/849, the Commission identifies any high-risk third country that has strategic deficiencies in its anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing regime.

As such, operators based in the EU who offer services to these countries or deal with players in these countries are required to carry out enhanced due diligence checks.

The list was first published in July 2016 and has been updated several times as additional countries of concern are identified and flagged by the Commission.

The latest countries to be added to this list – in an update published last month – include Burkina Faso, the Cayman Islands, Haiti, Jordan, Malo, Morocco, Myanmar, the Philippines, Senegal and Sudan from South.

Other countries on the list are Afghanistan, Barbados, Cambodia, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Iran, Jamaica, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Syria, Trinidad and -Tobago, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

Comments are closed.